It’s life Jim….

I was having a sneaky read of The Guardian at work today.  The topic was death.
More precisely, our fear of death.

A lot of the comments suggested that what people feared most was dying a painful death.

I don’t fear pain.  I sleep with pain, wake with it and have lived with it everyday day for the last 8 years.

And no, I don’t mean spiritual existential pain, but actual physical pain.

Pain I can come to terms with.  Yes, it grinds you down, can make you numb.  But it’s known.

Pain is not the thing I fear about death.

I fear the idea that I will cease to exist.  That the thing that makes me me, can and will vanish.

Where will I go?  Where will my thoughts go?  How can I just not be here?
To vanish into darkness, how is that possible?  I mean really?  How can the sum total of all our experiences and feelings over the course of our lives just disappear in the blink of an eye?

Maybe there’s a heaven, or at the very least an afterlife.

But maybe there’s not.

What if there’s not?

 

6 thoughts on “It’s life Jim….”

      1. Don’t get me wrong, not fears like jumping out of a plane – that’s just crazy – but fears that are holding me back from true connection with the people in my life, as well as myself.
        You’ll know if you’re ready.

        Like

  1. My sentiments exactly. Only, I don’t believe in a heaven or an afterlife – that makes it even more scary… Thanks for sharing! Not a lot of people feel comfortable talking about this topic or expressing their experiences/thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

